April 15, 2012
Garden-award winners
Parklane Nurseries was awarded the Canada Blooms Judges’ Choice Award for Best Overall Garden.
On Mar. 22, Canada Blooms announced the 2012 garden award winners, as well as the Evergreen Brick Works Society Education Environment and Design Award, the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects Award of Excellence and the Universal Access Award, coordinated through the Advocate for People with Disabilities, Parks, Forestry and Recreation, City of Toronto.
  • The Sheridan Nurseries Award for outstanding garden, small size - Dr. Landscape
  • The S.G. Ulbright Award for outstanding garden, medium size - Allweather Landscape
  • The Gordon A. MacEachern Award for outstanding garden, large size - Parklane Nurseries
  • Outstanding Interpretation of show theme, “CityCulture” - Dr. Landscape
  • Outstanding Use of Innovative Elements - Oriole Landscaping
  • Outstanding Use of Artistic Elements - Great Garden Revival
  • Outstanding Outdoor Entertainment Area - Bienenstock Natural Playgrounds/Parks Canada
  • Most Imaginative Garden Design, presented by AM 740 - Reford Gardens/Jardins De Metis
  • Best Use of Bulbs, presented by TradeWinds International Sales - b sq Design Studio
  • Outstanding Use of Interior Plants, presented by Brookdale Treeland Nurseries - Premier Landscaping and Design Judith S. Wright Associates Landscape Design Build
  • Outstanding Use of Annuals and/or Perennials, presented by Vanhof and Blokker - Sweetpea’s
  • Outstanding Use of Water - Genoscape
  • Outstanding Use of Natural Stone presented by Beaver Valley Stone - Members of Landscape Ontario
  • Outstanding Use of Pre-Cast Pavers presented by Permacon Group - Landscapes By Lucin
  • Outstanding Use of Structures - Humber College
  • Outstanding Use of Walkways - Parklane Nurseries
  • Outstanding Outdoor Living Space - Allweather Landscape
  • Outstanding Dramatic Use of Landscape Materials - Ronald Holbrook and Associates Landscape Architects
  • Outstanding Representation of Sponsor Message, presented by HUB Sinclair-Cockburn - Miyabi Landscape Design and Construction
  • The Garden Club of Toronto Award for Best Overall Use of Colour - Members of Landscape Ontario
  • The W.E. Bridgeman Award for best Overall Use of Hard Landscape Elements - Allweather Landscape
  • The Humber Nurseries Award for Best Overall Use of Plant Material - Sweetpea’s
  • The Leslie L. Solty Memorial Award for Best Overall Creativity in Garden Design - Ecoman/Victoria Taylor Landscape
  • Landscape Ontario Award for Best Overall Quality of Workmanship - Landscapes by Lucin
  • O.A.L.A. Award of Excellence - Royalty Landscaping/Ronald Holbrook and Associates Landscape Architects
  • Evergreen Brick Works S.E.E.D. Award - Ecoman/Victoria Taylor Landscape
  • Universal Access Award - Parklane Nurseries
  • Canada Blooms Judges’ Choice Award for Best Overall Garden - Parklane Nurseries

Judging panels

Tier 1: Alistair Johnston of Strybos, Barron King, Martin Wade, Martin Wade Landscape Architects, Jeff McMann, Town of Markham.

Tier 2: convener Ron Koudys of Ron Koudys Landscape Architects, Caroline DeVries, TradeWinds International Sales, Real Eguchi, bREAL, Christine Gracey, D.A. Gracey & Associates, Paul Dowsett, Sustainable.TO, and Christopher Hume, Toronto Star.

Tier 3 SEED Award (Society, Environment, Education, Design): convener Anthony Westenberg, Evergreen Brickworks, Lorraine Johnson, author, Heidi Campbell, Evergreen Learning Grounds, Aaron Harpell, Evergreen Garden Market, Laura Reinsborough, Not Far From the Tree, Isabel Dopta, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre and Debbie Martin, Landscape Associate Network

Universal Access Award Panel: conveners: Lorene Bodiam and Elvin Dobani, Advocates for People With Disabilities, City Of Toronto, Lauri Sue Robertson, Disability Awareness Consultants, Myra Rodrigues and Al Reeves.

Recorders: Barb Anthony, Christine Kennedy, City of Toronto Parks and Laura Brinton, Landscape Ontario.

OALA Award of Excellence Panel: convener Aina Budrevics, Ontario Association of Landscape Architects, Christine Abe, The MBTW Group, Shalini Ullal and Nancy Chater, The Planning Partnership.