November 15, 2015

Scholarships are investments towards industry’s future

For nearly 40 years, Ontario Horticultural Trades Foundation has provided young people with scholarships to help them pursue formal education within the industry.

Along with the scholarships, the Foundation also provides financial assistance towards research projects.

The Foundation now provides over $60,000 in scholarships each year. In 2015, a total of 42 students were awarded scholarships, who are all listed below.

The students will be introduced during the Awards of Excellence ceremony at Congress on Jan. 12. As well, the scholarship recipients have been invited to the Legacy Room at Congress.

The Foundation is governed by a volunteer board, comprised of respected industry members. Both the industry and the board lost long-time leader and president of the Foundation with the passing of John Wright this summer. Current members of the Foundation board are Monica van Maris, vice-president; Brian Cocks CLT, secretary; Hank Gelderman CLT, treasurer; Directors, Bob Allen, Tony DiGiovanni CLT, Ben Kobes, Mark Ostrowski, John Peets, Mike Thomas, Dave Turnbull CHT, Neil Vanderkruk and Bob Wilton.

The Foundation offers four ways to contribute:

Sponsorship: Join the Foundation by making a pledge — an annual donation or a one-time gift.

Memorial Gift: This is a meaningful way to honour a friend, loved one or professional contact and help support the industry

Legacy Gift: Earmark funds through your estate to sustain the horticulture industry. Contact your estate planner or lawyer to include this legacy provision in your will.  

Stewardship Program: Many Foundation sponsors share their expertise by speaking to groups, and directing their honorariums to the Foundation.

A donation to benefit Ontario’s horticultural community is tax deductible. More information and forms may be found online at